Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Instant Karma
Cover of Instant Karma
Instant Karma
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her – both good and...
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her – both good and...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her – both good and bad.
    Chronic overachiever Prudence Daniels is always quick to cast judgment on the lazy, rude, and arrogant residents of her coastal town. Her dreams of karmic justice are fulfilled when, after a night out with her friends, she wakes up with the sudden ability to cast instant karma on those around her.
    Pru giddily makes use of the power, punishing everyone from public vandals to mean gossips, but there is one person on whom her powers consistently backfire: Quint Erickson, her slacker of a lab partner. Quint is annoyingly cute and impressively noble, especially when it comes to his work with the rescue center for local sea animals.
    When Pru resigns herself to working at the rescue center for extra credit, she begins to uncover truths about baby otters, environmental upheaval, and romantic crossed signals—not necessarily in that order. Her newfound karmic insights reveal how thin the line is between virtue and vanity, generosity and greed . . . love and hate... and fate.

About the Author-

  • Marissa Meyer is the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of the Renegades Trilogy, The Lunar Chronicles series, the Wires and Nerve graphic novels, and The Lunar Chronicles Coloring Book. Her first standalone novel, Heartless, was also a #1 New York Times bestseller. Marissa created and hosts a podcast called The Happy Writer. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and their two daughters.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    September 1, 2020

    Gr 8 Up-Prudence Daniels is facing a C in science. It's the worst failure in her academic career, and it's all thanks to her irresponsible lab partner, Quint Erickson, who rarely does the work and shows up late to their group presentation. Her science teacher allows her to re-do the assignment on the condition that she and Quint work together. Now, she's got to convince Quint to work with her again, and with the power of instant karma in her hands, it just might work. But karma and Quint don't always work the way that Pru expects them to. This enemies-to-lovers contemporary romance has the slightest whiff of magical realism as Prudence mysteriously gains the power to reward or punish, but the mechanic is underutilized, and Prudence's choices always backfire on her, largely telegraphing the twists and turns of the plot. Despite its flaws, however, this is an enjoyable read. The romance is a slow burn, and though Pru initially thinks Quint is lazy and irresponsible, readers will be drawn to his work at the sea animal rescue center in the same way that Pru is. Pru is described as white; Quint is described as having tan skin. Secondary characters are well-drawn, particularly Pru's Latinx friend Ari. A brief mystery subplot near the end of the story amps up tension as the romance coalesces. It is solved a little too easily, but that won't deter readers from this breezy, beachy read. VERDICT Though not as compelling as some of Meyer's other works, this light, airy romance should appeal to fans of Emma Lord's Tweet Cute and Crystal Cestari's The Best Kind of Magic.-Mimi Powell, Lib. Systs. and Svcs., Kissimmee, FL

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    September 1, 2020
    Grades 7-12 Prudence is a judgmental overachiever who can't abide an academic slight. She's certain that despite Quint, her loafer lab partner in marine biology class, her project will earn her the top grade and benefit her coastal town. However, when Quint finally shows up to class for their presentation, he brings more heft to the project than Pru anticipated and pulls off the higher grade, much to Pru's angry surprise. After an evening out with friends, during which she hits her head, Pru discovers she has the magical ability to exact karmic justice on people in town?except for Quint, on whom her wishes have the opposite effect. Pru begs Quint to help her improve her final grade, and, along the way, she learns that selflessness and truth have their own rewards. While the instant-karma aspect of the story isn't necessary, the story's heart makes it a romantic tale well worth reading, and the inclusion of marine life rescue centers is an added bonus. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Maurene Goo, or Meg Cabot.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With a 500k first printing and a 10-city author tour on tap, this seems fated to be another best-seller for Meyer.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

  • Publisher's Weekly

    October 5, 2020
    Before an outing with friends gives her supernatural powers, the biggest trial of perfectionist Prudence Barnett’s sophomore year has been her lab partner, Quint Erickson. He’s sloppy and runs late, and just when she should be free of him, a chance to improve their bad final
    presentation grade makes her volunteer at the sea animal rehabilitation center that he helps his mother run. Now, Pru is slogging through fish-gut-related chores alongside annoying Quint—but also enjoying her new power, which gives her the ability to mete out instant karmic justice upon anyone she feels is exhibiting selfish behavior, like stealing from a vending machine or defacing a sign. She finds the power satisfying until she realizes that good and bad are less clear, and less binary, than she thought. Meyer (the Lunar Chronicles) turns a rom-com trope—uptight protagonist meets free spirit and learns to have fun—into an interesting meditation on judgment and justice. Readers who push through the slow beginning will be rewarded with a book that offers a real sense of place (a touristy Southern California beach community filled with otters and sea lions) alongside a satisfying romance and an unsanctimonious lesson about the importance of changing one’s ideas about oneself and others when needed. Ages 12–up. Agent: Jill Grinberg, Jill Grinberg Literary.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Feiwel & Friends
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 2 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Instant Karma
Instant Karma
Marissa Meyer
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Instant Karma
Instant Karma
Marissa Meyer
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by PAUSD, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close